Experian acquires PriceGrabber.com

Experian Acquires PriceGrabber.com

Experian has acquired comparison-shopping site PriceGrabber.com for approximately $485 million – making it on par with Scripps’ buyout of Shopzilla and slightly less than eBay’s purchase of Shopping.com, I believe. (Experian earlier bought LowerMyBills.com.)

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe this leaves NexTag as the last major comparison-shopping Web site that has yet to be acquired – and it seems unlikely they will be, given that everyone who wants one now has one. Mind you, NexTag also offers a service that competes with LowerMyBills.com (LMB) and even uses the same Flash-based rich media ads as LMB where all fifty states are depicted on a map inviting people to compare mortgage rates. The obvious potential buyer for NexTag then is either credit bureaus TransUnion or Equifax, or even more broadly, data collectors and warehousers ChoicePoint or Acxiom.

2 thoughts on “Experian acquires PriceGrabber.com

  1. Once, when we were about nine years old, at Greg Bayliss’s birthday party, someone was telling a rude joke or playing a prank of some sort (highly appropriate for nine-year-olds), and you scolded us from the corner and said that we would be better off focusing our attention on “the national deficit.” I remember feeling kind of stunned, firstly because I didn’t know what the deficit was, but also because I had a feeling that, whatever it was, you were probably right. The future of my intellect, in contrast to the future of yours, in that moment, seemed alarmingly dull. But then I think we played some air-hockey or something, or maybe Greg farted and we all laughed, and that was that.

    flash forward one decade. you win.

  2. Mark, it was truly a nice surprise hearing from you. I’m glad you discovered my blog, as well.

    E-mail me some time. I look forward to hearing from you again. :)

    Cheers,
    Doug Mehus

Leave a Reply

