Pat O’Brien to Leave ‘Access Hollywood’

Pat O’Brien to Leave ‘Access Hollywood’: “It’s a wrap for “Access Hollywood” co-host Pat O’Brien. O’Brien is leaving the syndicated entertainment TV show after seven years and will be replaced by Billy Bush, who now serves as the show’s East Coast correspondent.”

Interesting. Perhaps “Access Hollywood” will finally become a syndicated entertainment newsmagazine worth watching, since Pat O’Brien is arguably the most annoying on-air personality on television. The new co-hosts, according to The Associated Press, are Nancy O’Dell and Billy Bush. O’Dell has co-hosted the program since its premiere in 1996. Billy Bush is the first cousin of current U.S. President Bush. His father, Jonathan, is the brother of former U.S. President George H.W. Bush.

3 thoughts on “Pat O’Brien to Leave ‘Access Hollywood’

  1. Having worked on Access Hollywood for 5 years, I have to say that Pat O’Brien loved his job and was very good at it. He appreciated his position and was grateful to everyone that worked for him. Being just a freelance cameraman (one of many) that worked for the show, Pat bought a gift for my new baby daughter the day that I returned for a day of work. He also wanted to do the best job that he could but at the same time, be done in time to get home to be with his son and family. He truly is a great guy and I hope that he lands in another job that he loves as much as his last one.

  2. Thank you for sharing your comments to my blog entry. It’s most interesting and appealing to hear views of someone on the “inside”.

    It does surprise me that Mr. O’Brien is such a nice guy. He comes off as such a ham and quite snobby on-air. So, his “on-air” personality differs dramatically from that of his “off-air” life?

    Cheers,
    Doug

  3. I worked with O’Brien and it was one of the worst experiences of my life. He would come in to work in the morning still high from the night before and expect everyone else to join the party. He would make me drink and forced me to do cocaine enemas, sometimes at 9 am right after I woke up. I quit the job after he started whipping my testicles with a straw broom. I still have nightmares about it.

Leave a Reply

